Approaching Departure

I absolutely cannot believe that I leave for an entire semester in just four short days! Many friends have been asking to say goodbye but it just hasn’t sunk in that I’m even leaving. I wonder when I will truly understand what I’m doing. At Logan? When I arrive in Madrid? Orientation? Meeting my host family? Whenever it is, I hope it sinks in quickly, because I fully intend on making the most of every single second that I am there. 

Many of my friends have asked me two questions lately:
 
1. Have you started packing yet?
No. I have’t. How is it that I am one of the most organized, anal people yet I haven’t started packing yet?! I’ve organized a few things in a pile on my desk such as some journals, my camera and PicCell phone, my passport. But as far as loading up a suitcase…I don’t even see myself doing that until Sunday night. One of the reasons I think I am putting it off so much is because of question number two.

2. How are you going to pack 4 months of things you’ll need in a suitcase?
I have no idea. As much as I say that I can be minimalistic, I really can’t. I keep thinking of the perfect opportunity to wear item A or use item B and so I think that I have to bring it along. In the future, I will document what I bring with me (and what I end up taking home).

For now, more goodbyes in the days to come.

 

 Image

Leave a Reply

