One Week

As of 9:00pm tonight (my time) I will have been in Granada for exactly one Anniversary” Emily reminded me of this today by wishing me a “happy week-anniversary” on our walk back from the science museum. You too, roomie!

Emily and I in the Albacin in front of the Alhambra.

Emily and I in the Albaicin in front of the Alhambra.

I feel like I’ve already accomplished so much in my short time here, but at the same time I haven’t done ANYTHING. I know that I’ve done a lot and many of you (family) have been asking so here’s a brief list of what I’ve done in Granada:

  • City Tour of the plazas and streets of the city
  • Explored the city (shops, side streets, located my school buildings)
Exploring the city, finding amazing fountains in EVERY plaza

Exploring the city, finding amazing fountains in EVERY plaza

  • Took a placement test-placed higher than I expected
  • Got my courses- my schedule is horrible but as they say: que sera, sera
  • Familiarized myself with my school building- the CLM
CLM- Centro de Lenguas Modernas (Center of Modern Languages)

CLM- Centro de Lenguas Modernas (Center of Modern Languages)

  • Visited the Alhambra
Door Frame inside the Alhambra

Door Frame inside the Alhambra

  • Walked through the Albaicin (oldest neighborhood in Spain)
  • Viewed the Sacramonte (mountain/cave homes)
The Streets of the Albaicin

The Streets of the Albaicin

  • Made lists of all the places I want to visit while I’m here in the city- most important being the Arab Baths ❤
  • Visited El Parque de las Ciencas
  • Went to a tapas bar- D’Cuadros
  • Visited beautiful Churches with my roommate
Church in the City Center

Church in the City Center

  • Had Churros con Chocolate
  • Ate a typical Spanish breakfast at a restaurant
  • Had countless conversations in Spanish with my host mom and her boyfriend
  • Had API meetings every day
  • Went on a scavenger hunt through the city and only located like 2 places (maps are not easy, people).
Statue in the City Center on the way to the CLM

Statue in the City Center on the way to the CLM

Basically, it’s been one of the best weeks of my life, and I can’t believe I have so many more to come! I’m absolutely loving Granada, but I’m already starting to plan some trips away from here. I’m struggling between wanting to travel all through Europe and wanting to soak up Spain, so Emily and I are planning a trip to Seville, I’m planning to go to Malaga or Cordoba, and I’d also love to go outside the country for Spring break (Germany??). I’m having so much fun and know that there is so much more to come (for instance, I am on my way out the door to another museum!)

Leave a Reply

