How lucky I am…

It’s pretty hard to believe that today is my last day in this beautiful city. I’ve made some amazing memories and even better friends this semester and it’s genuinely painful to think about leaving. Last night a group of us got together for our last evening of tapas and drinks. It was so difficult to squeeze out an “hasta pronto” when we all knew full and well that it won’t be as soon as we would like.

It’s difficult to come to terms with, really. I almost didn’t say goodbye to one of my closest friends because I forgot that this would be the last time I saw her for awhile. I said “See ya later” like I do every day and we both turned to walk away and then stopped at the same time, turned around, and jumped into each other’s arms in a goodbye hug. I keep forgetting that there is no “later” here anymore. I won’t be able to put things off until the next day (like the Spaniards always do) and that any goodbyes or last minute tasks must be completed today.

I did a lot of growing this semester. I learned a lot more about the Spanish culture, improved my language skills, learned adaptability, and centered on my creativity more than critical thinking skills. But most importantly, I learned how to be confident in myself. I learned that it’s okay to do things wrong,, and to simply accept the fact that I’m going to make a lot of mistakes. I learned how to be on my own and how to ask for help (in another language, mind you). This semester has taught me a lot about myself and about the human spirit.

A huge thank you to all three of my parents for making this journey possible for me. I really couldn’t have done it without you.

Well, folks. The next time you hear from me, I’ll be on American soil! 🙂

Un abrazo fuerte :-*

20140522-154736-56856743.jpg

One comment

Leave a Reply

